And We Have a Winner Folks!

There were several projects that ended up making February’s UFO challenge (Un-Finished Object in ‘Quilt-Speak’). When are there not several projects at once?! Am I right?! I’m one of those crafty-types that enjoys having about 3-4 projects going at once – keeps things interesting.

“What was the final decision?,” you’re wondering?! When stopping by The Quilting Loft in Ballard to pick up my Block of the Month kit and some other essentials I received a quilt I had completed several months ago. All it needed was it’s binding! Which luckily I had already purchased when the top was quilted so there would be NO EXCUSES for this one. “Perfect,” I thought to myself, “The craft gods have spoken once again!” I have bound several quilts, but never by hand.  In my opinion, It’s a skill that every quilter needs to attempt at least once.

If you’re unfamiliar with the quilty terms and concepts let me jump back a step. The “binding” is a long sewn strip that will be ironed and folded a certain way so that it can be attached to the outside of the quilt in a continuous strip in order to encase the entire quilt. A quilt’s basic parts are the decorative top, the backing fabric, a layer of cotton batting in between, and binding around the edge. Via reading this blog you will learn much more about the quilting process – trust me!

Basically, in the quilt tradition, tacking down your quilt’s binding by hand is like frying your first egg.

For me, both experiences were messy, involved a lot of colorful language, and in essence are easily over thought. (Did I mention that over thinking something is one of my favorite past-times?!) With practice both are do-able and can become quite enjoyable. Many people prefer to prepare their eggs scrambled to avoid the hassles of running yolks, burnt brown edges or bits of shell to pick out. (….roll with me on this one!…..) In similar fashion, they may also choose to have their quilt bound for them by their quilt’s long-armer.

Basically I feel like a pioneer woman while I’m sewing! All I need is my candle, my bonnet and a strong fire going.

And now for some photos of my progress!…….This project all started with Tula Pink’s Fox Field Collection released in 2014.

March 2014

Tula Pink’s Fox Field fabric Collection. March 2014.

The quilt was created from Tula’s blog where she provided a free pattern to make the Moxie Quilt using her Fox Field fabrics. My quilt was created and then displayed in The Quilting Loft in Ballard, WA during the Western Washington Shop Hop of 2014.

Quilt assembled, quilted and on display during the Western Washington Quilt Shop Hop 2014 in Ballard,WA.

I will dedicate an entire post to this quilt once the binding is completed! Here are a few hand binding shots to complete the post for today.

Hand Binding is completed using a hidden little whip stitch with matching thread and a sharp needle!

You want to place your needle underneath the backing fabric directly across from where the previous stitch was started and then try to get the needle hooked just before the edge of the binding about 1/4″ away or less. This will complete your quilt sandwich with a hidden edge. Binding cab be done on the machine. The down side is that the stitches show through to the other side (a typical quilt-no-no!). The plus side is that it can save you time and some frustration.

It’s been three days of a few hours of work and I am starting to pick up the beginning and ending techniques and have found that I do enjoy getting into the zen-like flow of creating these tiny perfectly pink stitches!

Hand Binding for the first time! Almost done…..!

There’s only a few more days of February to go! I will see you again soon for a final posting about this adorable Moxie Quilt from Tula Pink. Happy Quilting!

Leave a Reply

