2015: The Year of the UFO

2015: The Year of the UFO (Unfinished Object in Quilty Terms)

Have you ever reached that stash point of absolute over-saturation?! When I first started quilting this was my goal point! Any type of spending money I got was deposited directly into anywhere that sold fabric (…and let’s be honest! – basically ANY type of crafty goods or supplies! I have definitely dabbled in my share of hobbies over the years 😉 ).

I would pour over quilt books and magazines for hours. I began seeing quilt patterns everywhere! In buildings while driving, in house windows while walking the dog, or in the tiles on the public restroom floor. I would randomly proclaim, “Wouldn’t that make an AMAZING quilt?!”, while seemingly starring at a wall. My family and friends can, of course, entertain the idea of this concept – see a pattern in your immediate surroundings, then translate it into a quilt. They can see the patterns I’m talking about. They can understand the values of color at play or the simple pleasure found in design. But, as a quilter, sometimes it seems like I can FEEL it. I can see how the quilt would come to life, how the measurements would need to be calculated in order to place those “blocks” exactly the right way to make that quilt top come to life. You can visualize several color combinations all at once. Your brain quickly sorts through all the stacks, boxes, bins, baskets and shelves of cloth knowing instantly the perfect piece from your stash! It’s this warm and fuzzy creative buzz you can get when you’re in this deep ( I know I’m not crazy! I know there are other people out there just like me!).

This love of craft has lead to a MOUNTAIN of a stash! And, of course, a delightfully long list of project to start, projects to finish, projects to buy for and of course the ultimate projects to strive for! Don’t get me wrong, I make things, I can finish a project if so inspired, I made most of my Christmas gifts this year in fact! But the true problem is that I enjoy starting projects at a faster rate than I enjoy finishing them. This habit is beginning to become a problem! As you can probably guess from the lengthy (guilty*) explanation.

I have fabric coming out of EVERYWHERE and ANYWHERE. I have recently moved out and so now I have the ability to claim a stash in two different locations! This is too much! A dear friend pointed out, while helping me organize the sudden overflow, that instead of buying more bins, bags, boxes or shelving units (….trust me it’s bad!…) I need to EMPTY some of the original bins, boxes, bags and shelving units! What a concept!?!?!

The worst part is…… I know it’s true. I understand the definition of insanity! In fact, I think the dictionary may have started the sketch of my face to add next to the word for obsession! I understand that sinking feeling when you watch Hoarders and you tell yourself you’re not hoarding cause it’s all clean!……right….. ;).

It’s time for some crafty goals! I need to finish at least one bin project a month! Mandatory! No excuses this year! And what better way to track my progress than the blogosphere. (Fun Fact!: “blogosphere is a real word! My spell check hates it, but it’s in the dictionary!) Anyways, I haven’t chosen my project for this month yet, but I will return with more information in a few days. That is after I emerge from the pits of fabric heaven, grappling with my inner craft goddess over which lonely project is most deserving of completion! …..This decision could take a while….!

Leave a Reply

